Winners Announced At The 2019 CFDA Fashion Awards | Jennifer Lopez Fashion Icon | Other Includes Brandon Maxwell, Yara Shahidi, Christian Siriano, Ashley Graham, Hasan Minhaj, Jessica Williams & more… News By CFDA
news, events & stories

#1 Digital News Buzz for you...

   Welcome Guest | Login

Winners Announced At The 2019 CFDA Fashion Awards | Jennifer Lopez Fashion Icon | Other Includes Brandon Maxwell, Yara Shahidi, Christian Siriano, Ashley Graham, Hasan Minhaj, Jessica Williams & more…

Awards News By CFDA | Posted on June 04, 2019 05:46 AM

Winners Announced At The 2019 CFDA Fashion Awards | Jennifer Lopez Fashion Icon | Other Includes Gigi Hadid, Brandon Maxwell, Yara Shahidi, Christian Siriano, Ashley Graham, Hasan Minhaj, Jessica Williams & more… CFDA  

Awards News by CFDA : Tonight, the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) celebrated the winners and honorees of the 2019 CFDA Fashion Awards at the Brooklyn Museum in New York. Hasan Minhaj and Jessica Williams joined the evening's presenter lineup, which also included Yara Shahidi, Bernadette Peters, and Tom Ford.

Jessica Williams presented the evening's Womenswear Designer of the Year award to Brandon Maxwell, and the Accessory Designer of the Year award to Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row. Hasan Minhaj presented the Menswear Designer of the Year award to Rick Owens, and the Emerging Designer of the Year award to Emily Adams Bode for Bode.

Jennifer Lopez was named Fashion Icon, presented by Tom Ford.

Harold Koda presented Lynn Yaeger with the Media Award.

Sarah Burton of Alexander McQueen was recognized with the Valentino Garavani and Giancarlo Giammetti International Award, presented by Anna Wintour.

Valentino Garavani and Giancarlo Giammetti are generously underwriting the International Award through their foundation, the non-profit Fondazione Valentino Garavani e Giancarlo Giammetti which is focused on charity and the promotion of culture and art.

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Bob Mackie by Bernadette Peters.

The Founder's Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert was presented to Carine Roitfeld by Tom Ford.
Barbie received the Board of Directors' Tribute, which was presented by Yara Shahidi.

The Positive Change Award was presented to Eileen Fisher by Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne.
In one of the highlights of the evening, Michael Kors surprised outgoing CFDA Chairwoman Diane von Furstenberg with a tribute before she handed over the organization's Chairmanship to Tom Ford.

"I have been privileged to lead the CFDA for the last 13 years," said Diane von Furstenberg. "In fashion, we are about glamorous entrances, but beautiful exits are equally important. I could not have wished for a better exit, a more glamorous upgrade, and a better successor than Tom Ford."

"I am honored to be the new Chairman of the CFDA and excited about all the opportunities I see in the future of American fashion," said Tom Ford, the new Chairman of the CFDA. I have spent most of my career living and working in Europe, but I am an American fashion designer at heart who started here on Seventh Avenue. When I was asked to take on this new role, I felt a sense of duty to give back to our industry and to support our designers and the American fashion system in any way that I can, and in particular to help the next generation of talent succeed."

"Tonight, at the Brooklyn Museum, designers, business partners, friends, supporters and muses have come together to celebrate our industry," said Steven Kolb, President and CEO of the CFDA. "You have built American fashion into a cultural influence that drives our economy."

The 2019 CFDA Fashion Awards red carpet was broadcast live on Facebook, YouTube, Instagram, and Twitter. Coverage of the ceremony was featured on Facebook, YouTube, Instagram, and Twitter as well as on

Diane von Furstenberg, Tom Ford, Steven Kolb

Dao-Yi Chow, Tom Ford, Harold Koda, Hasan Minhaj, Maxwell Osborne, Bernadette Peters, Yara Shahidi, Jessica Williams, Anna Wintour

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Brandon Maxwell, Marc Jacobs, Kate Mulleavy and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte, Rosie Assoulin, and Sander Lak for Sies Marjan.
Menswear Designer of the Year: Mike Amiri for Amiri, Virgil Abloh for Off-White, Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss, Rick Owens, and Thom Browne.
Accessory Designer of the Year: Jennifer Fisher for Jennifer Fisher Jewelry,
Virgil Abloh for Off-White, Tabitha Simmons, Telfar Clemens for Telfar, and Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row.
Emerging Designer of the Year: Emily Adams Bode for Bode, Beth Bugdaycay for Foundrae, Heron Preston, Catherine Holstein for Khaite, and Sarah Staudinger and George Augusto for Staud.

HONOREES: Barbie, Sarah Burton, Eileen Fisher, Jennifer Lopez, Bob Mackie, Carine Roitfeld

CELEBRITY GUESTS: Ajak Deng, Alek Wek, Alex Rodriguez, Amber Valetta, Antoni Porowski, A$AP Ferg, Ashley Graham, Barbara Palvin, Beanie Feldstein, Bebe Rexha, Bella Hadid, Brad Goreski, Brooke Shields, Camila Morrone, Ciara, Cindy Bruna, Diane Kruger, Devon Windsor, Doutzen Kroes, Elsa Hosk, Emily Ratajkowski, Fei Fei Sun, Gemma Ward, Gigi Hadid, Grace Elizabeth, Hannah Bronfman, Halima Aden, Heidi Klum, Hilary Rhoda, Karolina Kurkova, Joan Smalls, Lakeith Stanfield, Lala Anthony, Laura Harrier, Lauren Santo Domingo, Lili Reinhart, Lily Aldridge, Martha Hunt, Mia Moretti, Olivia Palermo, Presley Gerber, Shailene Woodley, Susanne Bartsch, Swae Lee, Taylor Hill, Teyana Taylor, Winnie Harlow.

DESIGNERS: Joseph Altuzarra, Fernando Garcia, Laura Kim, Giles Mendel, Jason Wu, Jack McCollough, Lazaro Hernandez, Michael Kors, Nicola Glass, Rachel Zoe, Stacey Bendet, Stuart Vevers, Tommy Hilfiger, Tory Burch, Wes Gordon, Zac Posen, Christian Siriano, LaQuan Smith, Monique Lhuillier, Vera Wang, Diane von Furstenberg, Donna Karan, Thom Browne

Source: PR Newswire/CFDA


HashTags: #CFDA #FashionDesign #Design #DesignAward #JenniferLopez #Celebrity

Click to Post Your Comments

Comments (0)

Click to view more comments

  • Noble Panacea announces Emmy Award-winner Jodie Comer as Global Brand Ambassador

  • Jewellery Designer Kat Florence Collaborates With Gem Hunter Don Kogen to Reveal World's Most Significant Alexandrite Collection to Date


  • Iconic Vegan Products for the Perfect Cat Eye - KVD Vegan Beauty Tattoo Liner and Go Big for Go Home Mascara - PRNewsFoto/KVD Vegan Beauty

    KVD Vegan Beauty Celebrates CAT EYES FOR ALL with New Global Campaign Featuring All Ages, Eye Shapes and Instagram-Famous Cat

  • Kate Somerville Skincare Releases This Is Kate, A Documentary On Brand Founder And Industry Pioneer Kate Somerville

  • Super Wow Train with Voluminous Sleeves - PR NewsFoto/Madeline Gardner

    Top Bridal Designer Offers Her Top 7 Gown Trends for 2020

  • Gander Group, Vanessa Williams And kathy ireland® Worldwide Bring Fashion, Jewelry And Housewares To Casino High Rollers With New Partnership

  • Colombian Designer Johanna Ortiz Launches Full Collection With H&M | Features the Exotic Color Palette, Tropical Florals and Dramatic Silhouettes

  • Aesthetics Biomedical Announces Molly Sims as SoME™ Skincare Brand Ambassador | The Actress, Model, Author and Philanthropist Who Believes Platelet Rich Plasma is the Future of Natural Beauty, Inc. is a registered trademark & All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

About us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertising & Sales